Cock in a Tree (WP Prompt)

Douglas Fir tree

Today’s writing prompt from the Daily Post at WordPress:

New Dawn

Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

Did you know your body has an internal clock that causes you to feel sleepy at night and awake during the day?  This natural sleep-wake cycle is called the circadian rhythm. When this natural rhythm is out of whack, it might be considered a circadian rhythm sleep disorder.  One type of circadian rhythm disorder is called DSP (Delayed Sleep Phase Disorder).  People with this condition typically go to sleep later than most people and sleep later too.

For many years, I had a job where I wouldn’t get home until about ten o’clock at night.  When I started working a nine-to-five job, I’d be exhausted all the time because I couldn’t seem to get to bed early enough to get more than few hours sleep before I had to be up to go to work again.  My doctor diagnosed me with DSP.

I like to watch the sun rise.  I really like to take photographs of the sunrise as well as right after the sun rises; the light is great for taking terrific pictures at that time a day.  I’m telecommuting these days so I don’t need to get up early for work; now I very rarely see the sunrise, although, I’m happy to say I’m getting plenty sleep.  Sometimes, however, something comes along that shakes things up.

It was  five o’clock in the morning.  I’d gone to bed just two hours earlier.  I was slipping into deep sleep when suddenly I was jolted awake by a strange, sharp sound.  I couldn’t make sense of it at first.  Then I heard it again.  It was, of all things, a rooster crowing.  I couldn’t figure out where it was coming from so I went outside to look.  I walked around the house and there he was,  along with four hens, sitting about 20 feet up in my fir tree.  I couldn’t believe it! I had absolutely no idea where the chickens had come from or why on earth they were in my tree.

One of the problems that comes with my sleeping issues is that if I’m awakened, it’s likely I’ll be unable to fall back to sleep again.  It’s not surprising that I watched the sun rise that day.

Try as I might, I couldn’t track down the owner of the chickens.  The next morning, right on cue, I heard a “cock a doodle DOoooo”.  “Not again!”,  I muttered under my breath.  I went outside and tried to chase the chickens out of the tree.  They wouldn’t budge.  I picked up a rock and threw it at them, missing miserably.  As I turned to walk back into the house, I saw the glow of the sun coming up over the horizon.  I started to hum:

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes

By the third day of being awakened by the rooster, I wasn’t singing anymore.  I wasn’t getting much sleep either.  It was on the third day that I found the chickens’ owner.  Apparently the chickens flew the coop when a gate was left open.

The next two days I also saw the sunrise.  The owner was dragging his feet retrieving his chickens.  I get really cranky when a I don’t get enough sleep.  After five days of seeing the sun rise, I’d sailed past cranky to the land of seriously pissed.

On the sixth day, I called the owner of the chickens and told him that he needed to get his chickens or I would be having fried chicken for dinner the following day.  Consequently, on the sixth day, he caught Mr. Cock-a-Doodle-Do and his harem and took them home.

On the seventh day, I rested.

 

Dear Fellow Writers,

I’m collecting links to websites that are useful reference to all of us. Look at the bar to the left and you can scroll to view the links. I’ll be adding new links as I find them. If you follow my blog, they’ll be available to you with just a click.

Happy Writing!

K.C.

Author: K.C. Kildress

I enjoy poetry, writing, gardening and cloud watching. I share my world with two happy dogs and one sassy cat.