The Definition of Disgusting (WP Prompt)

Emptly toilet paper roll

Today’s writing prompt from the Daily Post at WordPress:

Nightmare Job

In honor of Labor Day in North America, tell us what’s the one job you could never imagine yourself doing.

When I was working my way through college, I had to take jobs that allowed me to be free to go to classes during the day.  What this meant is that the jobs I worked had to be at night; the type of jobs that were available to me were limited.

I once had a job as an environmental engineer.  Environmental engineer is a fancy name for janitor.  I was responsible for cleaning offices in an industrial park.  My tasks included cleaning the management and clerical offices, including restrooms, as well as restrooms for the warehouse areas

The women’s restrooms were a little icky every now and then; the men’s restrooms were a little icky most of the time.  Then there were the men’s restrooms for the warehouses; they took the task of cleaning to a whole new level.

The men’s restrooms in the warehouse areas were vile- it was as if some of the guys using them had barely graduated from potty training.  There was one that was particularly disgusting.  The first time I cleaned it I nearly puked; if I would have had a hazmat suit, I would have worn it.  That restroom could have won the crap-hole of the decade award.

As disgusting as my job was, I could never imagine being the person who had to open up a drain pipe for a plugged toilet. I totally pity anyone who might have to open a drain pipe for one of the warehouse toilets.  Even now, the thought of it makes me retch.

Dear Fellow Writers,

I’m collecting links to websites that are useful reference to us all. Look at the bar to the left and you can scroll to view the links. I’ll be adding new links as I find them. If you follow my blog, you’ll have easy access to them with just a click.

Happy Writing!

K.C.

Author: K.C. Kildress

I enjoy poetry, writing, gardening and cloud watching. I share my world with two happy dogs and one sassy cat.